Outstanding Scholarship Award

One Outstanding Scholarship Award is given each year to a faculty member from one of the following colleges in recognition of their excellent record of scholarship and research at Western:

  • Business and Economics,
  • Fairhaven College of Interdisciplinary Studies,
  • Fine and Performing Arts,
  • Huxley College of the Environment,
  • Woodring College of Education
  • Western Libraries

Selection Criteria

While the award is intended to recognize all of one’s excellence in scholarship while at Western, supporting research and scholarship materials from the candidate shall be limited to no more than five years, but should include the last three.


The award recipient will be presented with a Western medallion award at the Celebration of Excellence Awards in June. This award also includes a payment of $2,500, made possible by the Western Washington University Foundation.   (Please note: for each payment, the University also contributes approximately $1,553.66 for tax related deductibles plus benefits for a total expenditure of approximately $3,553 per award). 

Award Administration

College of Fine and Performing Arts and Library Dean’s Office (rotating)

Nomination Process

Only WWU faculty members, department chairs, and academic deans may nominate their faculty colleagues for a Scholarship/Research award.  Nominations open in the fall and are due by December 1. Nominations are currently CLOSED for the 2021 award.


No nominations received - ---

 No nominations received for this award for 2019/2020 academic year.

Past Awardees


Photo of Andy BunnAndy Bunn - Environmental Sciences

Andy Bunn is a climate scientist who focuses on changes to arctic carbon cycling and paleoclimatology. He has worked extensively in the Russian Far East and in mountains systems around the world.  The link between climate change and human use of energy led him to establish Western’s Institute for Energy Studies in 2012. However, he found that administration didn’t suit him and has returned to the regular faculty to focus on research and teaching. He holds a B.S. from the Evergreen State College, a Master’s of Environmental Management from Duke University and a Ph.D. from Montana State University. He did post-doctoral research at the Woods Hole Research Center before coming to Western in 2006. He has published dozens of scientific papers and is an enthusiastic communicator of science giving public talks on climate and energy around the region.