Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award

The Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award recognizes a WWU faculty member* who has made outstanding and impactful efforts that have enriched the intellectual vitality of the campus and/or the broader community. This work may include service to the University, to service-learning programs, to outreach programs to the local and broader community, and service to the profession. 

*Please Note: Only Assistant Professors, Associate Professors, or Professors are eligible for this award. (Instructors, Lecturers, Senior Instructors are not eligible. Please check the staff directory for faculty titles.)


The award recipient will be presented with a Western medallion award at the Celebration of Excellence Awards in May. The recipient will also receive a payment for $1,000, made possible by the Western Washington University Foundation. (Please note: for each payment, the University also contributes approximately $421 for tax related deductibles plus benefits for a total expenditure of approximately $1,421 per award).

Award Administration

College of Business and Economics Dean's Office

Nomination Process

Nominations for the 2024 award are currently CLOSED. Thank you to those that took the time to nominate someone!


Shirin Deylami smiling warmly and wearing a black top and a WWU award medallion on a neck ribbom

Shirin Deylami - Political Science

Shirin Deylami is a professor in the Department of Political Science and affiliate faculty in the Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies (WGSS) Program.  She started her career at Western after finishing her graduate work in political theory from the University of Minnesota in 2008. She received her undergraduate degree in politics and women’s studies from the University of California at Santa Cruz. As a political theorist, she has always been interested in the relationship between gender, sexuality, ethnicity and the production of the Other in both western and Islamic political thought. Her current research is interested in the role of emotions in feminist solidarity movements across the globe.
In her leadership roles, Deylami has made significant contributions to developing the WGSS minor and major. She was the inaugural director of the Faculty Mentoring Program, which pairs new faculty with more senior colleagues across campus in the hopes of retaining these excellent new faculty. From 2020 to 2022 she was the vice-president and then president of the Faculty Senate. Alongside this work she has served on a number of initiatives to promote inclusion, diversity and equity across campus and in the discipline of political science. She was the Chair of the Governance of Council of the Association for Political Theory, a representative to the Western Political Science Association, and currently serves on the editorial board for the American Political Science Review, the flagship journal in political science. 

Past Awardees

1 awardee(s) for this year

2022 Awardees

Scott Linneman wearing WWU award medallion

Scott Linneman - Honors College

Since his arrival at Western in 2000, Dr. Scott Linneman has been a Professor of Geology and Science Education and, since 2015, Director of the University Honors College. He earned a B.A. from Carleton College and a Ph.D. from the University of Wyoming. His research has focused on volcanoes (in the Cascades, Central America, and Turkey) and large landslides. He used laser scanning and time-lapse photography to study surface geologic processes and how students learn about the rates of those processes. He has served on the thesis committees of more than 30 MS students and a few PhD students.

Also certified as a middle school teacher, he served as a Senior Fulbright Fellow working on teacher preparation at Nelson Mandela University in South Africa. He has directed an NSF GK-12 Project and was co-PI for WWU’s North Cascades and Olympics Science Partnership. He also worked on Western’s Change-at-the-Core professional development project. After serving on the executive committee of the Washington Science Teachers Association, Dr. Linneman served as president of the National Association of Geoscience Teachers. In 2011, he was named the Higher Ed Science Teacher of the Year by WSTA and, in 2013, chosen the Carnegie Professor of the Year for Washington. Under his leadership, Honors at WWU has successfully recruited and nurtured more than a 1,000 diverse, high-potential, high-achieving Western students.